About Me

Welcome to my little corner of the big wild web. My name is Heather, a name which my mother, back in 1973 along with thousands of other mothers, thought was unique ...

I have been practicing Witchcraft since 2002. I follow an eclectic Wiccan path, and am constantly studying and growing, both in purely personal study as well as structured study. I have studied with WitchSchool, CUEW, Sisterhood of the Silver Branch, and Seasons in Avalon.

I'm lazy. I love sitting around and shooting the breeze more than just about anything. I also like to be surrounded by beauty, and beauty takes work. There's the rub. So I find little ways of tricking myself into being motivated to make my surroundings beautiful. Sometimes it's watching HGTV, sometimes it's surfing the web, sometimes it's taking a walk around my neighborhood, and sometimes it's inviting someone over for dinner that gets me off the couch to clean my house!

I have a passion for holistic healing and living as sustainably as I can given where I live and my budget. I'm not perfect about it, but I do my best.

My amazing son Luke is 17. He is a math whiz, loves science, writing poetry and short stories, computers, and online gaming. You would think with his interests he'd be holed up in a basement somewhere by himself, but the opposite is the truth. He is an incredibly social, multi-talented, brilliant, interesting, funny, and fun person to be around.

Rick is my love. He is a professional drummer of more than 30 years, has two adult children, Nikki & Marshall, plays with Wylie & the Wild West, Son Dulce (Salsa!), and the Exploding Fifis. He loves politics, history and salsa dancing.
My darling Rick hard at work!

Other members of our family include Roar, my black cat familiar and 2nd in Command, Ashlee (Persian), Kona (pitbull/chocolate lab), and Ming Toy (pug).

Roar & Kona

I also take care of my grandfather, who has Alzheimer's. I became his legal guardian when it was apparent he could no longer care for himself properly, and moved him from his condo in Portland, Oregon to a very nice Alzheimer's care center here in Spokane. It hasn't been easy, especially since I had only seen him a handful of times in my life, but it has been one of the most worthwhile and spiritually rewarding things I have ever done.

Grampa Hank & Me
Four days a week I'm an Employee Benefits Proposal Specialist, which means I put together proposals for employee benefit plans that include medical, dental, group life, group long and short-term disability, etc., etc. Not my dream job, but it pays the bills. The rest of my time gets spent gardening, reading, making jewelry, painting, drawing, cleaning house, working out, and sewing ... that is if I can muster up the motivation to get off the couch!